Home » Step 1 » Got my score. 99/234
MuTa18274368 (Posts 1) - 5/6/2010 6:11:51 AM

Got my score today. It's unbelieveable. Thanks to Allah Almighty. I was so depressed after the exam.
Thanks to everyone in this community. Got all the help from here. I had no one to guide me properly. Special thanks to Sanjeev who helped me at every stage of my preparation and answered my every little query.
Your queries are most welcome.

MuTa18274368 (Posts 1) - 5/6/2010 6:19:55 AM

I took a little long to prepare for the step 1. People usually recommend 6 months. I took almost 10 months because I was doing house job alongwith it as well. I just wanted to get done with step1 by the time I finish house job.

Been very calm and cool throughout my preparation. In the start, I studied for 4-6 hours which I gradually increased to 12-14 hours in the last couple of months. Been watching movies, going out with friends. Took a break in September for the whole month of Ramadan.

My suggestion is Kaplan Books + DVDs + Goljan Patho + Goljan Audio + Goljan Slides + First Aid.

I did not do Webpath or any specific book or website for CT/MRI and heart murmurs. You get a good idea about probable answer without patho slides in most of the questions. In CT they ask to identify the normal anatomical structure which is not difficult if you know normal anatomy. I got three murmur audio clips.

Keeping your head cool is the key during exam. I skipped the tutorial. Exam pattern was exactly like UW but questions were shorter than that. Half of the questions were 3-4 liner, 25% were one or two liner and the rest were 5+ liner. I did two blocks straight away, then 10 mins break (you don't even realise how quickly mins pass), again two blocks in a row, then 30mins break. That long break was very helpful in restoring my energy levels. Again I took 2 blocks and 10 mins break. Then I did the last block with 10 mins spare.